Graham Whisen

On Tuesday Graham Whiten came to our class as a guest speaker. He talked about creating a PLN (Professional Learning Network) through the use of social networks, such as Twitter. I am have been using Twitter for about the past year or so with my personal account and I have just been lurking around seeing what educators are doing, and getting some great ideas. I need to step up my game, and begin retweeting, and sharing what I am doing in my classroom to become more involved in my learning. I also have my class Twitter account, which I use very often to Tweet about my day and to share what is happening with the parents of the students in my class. While Graham was discussing Twitter it got me thinking about a site that someone had shared on Twitter about the 10 Stages of Twitter (I feel as if I’ve said Twitter enough times in this post).  Read through it and see what stage you are at!

When I am standing in line at the grocery store I am reading Twitter, it is the best few minutes of Professional Development that I may get all year! I am able to connect with educators from around the word, get ideas and share best practices.  I would like to start using my Twitter account more with my students, and maybe connect with a class at another school.

Last week Reza showed us how to use iMovie, and immediately I paid the $4.99 and bought it on my iPad!  My 4 and 5 year olds were able to use the iPad by themselves to create a trailer that they shared with our class. As soon as I figure out how to blur the faces on iMovie on my iPad I will post my video. (If anyone knows, let me know!)

2 thoughts on “Graham Whisen

  1. Great post Alexandra. I don’t think you have anything to worry about, concerning “stepping up your game”…you are certainly way ahead of me and most of us in the class. I am at “Stage 1” and about to dive in. It’s only a matter of time. I keep hearing from others that use Twitter for PD and it seems very effective. Thanks for inspiring me to sign up!

  2. Hi Alex, I think it’s great that you are on Twitter with your Kindergarten class. You are teaching your class Digital Citizenship and being responsible (ex: blurring out faces or covering their faces with their hands) – that’s wonderful. Digital Citizenship is crucial in this day and age for students and you started them early. Imagine how savvy (and safe) they will be in the future. Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

